Before you start
You will be able to
- Calculate asset turnover and fixed-asset turnover, on average balances, and adjust a part-year for comparison.
- Calculate receivables, inventory and payables turnover and their days, choosing the flow that matches each balance (credit sales billed, cost of goods sold, purchases).
- Calculate the operating cycle and the cash conversion cycle, and interpret a negative cycle such as Amazon’s.
- Measure a contract asset as days of revenue tied up, and explain why it belongs neither in receivables days nor out of the analysis.
- Estimate the cash that growth absorbs, and the cash released by changing credit, stock or supplier terms.
Review first
- Liquidity — Liquidity measures the stock of working capital at one date; this lesson measures how fast it turns over.
- Receivables and payables — Net receivables, the allowance, credit terms and payables come from there.
- Inventory and cost of goods sold — Inventory turnover uses cost of goods sold, which that lesson builds.
- The indirect method — Working-capital changes in the indirect method are the cash side of the same story.
Fictional case A fictional coffee business founded by Ana Lim. It starts as a catering and barista-training service, opens its own cafés and an online shop for beans, and plans a canned cold brew.
The idea
Fictional case
Lantern’s revenue tripled in 2027, yet its operations brought in only $8,341 of cash against $39,940 in its first ten months. Ana wants to know where the cash went. Part of the answer is in the liquidity lesson: the cafés were paid for in cash. The rest is in how long Lantern’s money now waits at each stage between buying beans and being paid by customers, and that is what efficiency ratios measure.
Efficiency ratios (also called activity or turnover ratios) compare a flow from the income statement with a balance from the balance sheet. A turnover divides the flow by the balance: how many times a year the balance is used up and replaced. Days divides the balance by the flow per day: how long the balance would last, or how long an item waits on average. The two say the same thing, upside down: days = days in the period ÷ turnover.
Two families matter. Asset turnover asks how much revenue each dollar of assets generates; it is one of the three drivers of return on equity in module 3. The working-capital days follow cash around the operating cycle: the business buys stock on credit (payables days), holds it (inventory days), sells it on credit (receivables days) and finally collects the cash. The cash conversion cycle is the number of days the business itself must finance between paying its suppliers and being paid by its customers.
| Measure | 2026 (ten months, closing balances) | 2027 (average balances) |
|---|---|---|
| Asset turnover | 2.06 (2.48 annualised) | 2.74 |
| Fixed-asset turnover | 5.20 (6.24 annualised) | 8.72 |
| Receivables days (DSO), on invoiced catering | 34.5 | 37.2 |
| Inventory days (DIO), on cost of goods sold | 33.4 | 17.1 |
| Payables days (DPO), on purchases on account | 39.8 | 18.0 |
| Cash conversion cycle (days) | 28.1 | 36.3 |
Days use 304.17 days for 2026’s ten months and 365 for 2027. 2026 has no opening balance sheet, so it uses closing balances.
Lantern made its assets work harder: each dollar of average assets produced $2.74 of revenue in 2027, against $2.48 (annualised) in 2026, and its equipment and fit-out turned over 8.72 times. Stock moved faster too, 17.1 days against 33.4. But catering clients took longer to pay (37.2 days against 34.5), Lantern paid its own suppliers much faster (18.0 days against 39.8), and the cycle it must finance lengthened from 28.1 to 36.3 days. That comparison mixes bases (2027 on averages, 2026 on closing balances) and understates the change: on closing balances in both years, 2027’s figures are 45.5 days of receivables, 21.2 of inventory and 18.0 of payables, a cycle of 48.6 days against 28.1. Above all, $30,840 of revenue sits in the contract asset, which none of these ratios counts. The rest of the lesson builds each measure and then puts the pieces together.
In depth
Asset turnover
Asset turnover is revenue divided by average total assets; fixed-asset turnover uses average property and equipment, net, instead. Because revenue is earned over the whole year and assets change during it, the average of the opening and closing balances is the better divisor. Lantern 2027: average total assets , so asset turnover is . For 2026 there is no opening balance sheet (Lantern started on 1 March with nothing), so the closing balance stands in, and the ten months of revenue must be annualised before comparing: .
Asset turnover depends on the business model as much as on management. A café chain with leased premises has a different asset base from a roaster that owns its plant. And since ASC 842 the right-of-use asset for leased premises is in total assets: Lantern’s $173,379 of right-of-use assets is more than half its year-end total. Leaving it out, average assets would be $124,090 and asset turnover 4.66. Neither figure is wrong; compare like with like.
Receivables: turnover and days
Receivables turnover divides credit sales by average net receivables; days sales outstanding (DSO) turns it into days: the average number of days customers take to pay. Only sales on credit create receivables, so only they belong in the numerator. Lantern’s café, shop and workshop sales are paid at the till or online at once; only catering is invoiced on 30-day terms.
Even catering revenue needs care. Lantern’s 2027 catering revenue of $118,360 includes $30,840 for the law firm, which is in the contract asset and has never been billed, and $1,640 for January events paid for by deposits in 2026. Neither passed through accounts receivable. The sales that did were the $85,880 invoiced in the year. Matching flow and balance:
Using all catering revenue gives 27.0 days, and using total revenue 5.5 days: both divide receivables by sales that never became receivables, so both understate how long clients take to pay. The aging schedule is consistent with 37.2: of the $11,460 owed at the year end, $3,060 was more than 30 days old, past Lantern’s terms. For 2026, with closing receivables of $6,796 and $59,920 invoiced in ten months, DSO is days. The days in a ten-month period are ; using 365 with ten months of sales would overstate the days by a fifth.
The contract asset: revenue waiting to be billed
The contract asset is not a receivable, so it stays out of DSO. It is still working capital: cash Lantern has earned and is waiting for. Measure it in days of revenue. At 31 December 2027 it held days of Lantern’s total revenue, and 274 days, nine months, of the law firm’s fee: every event since April. Counting it as if it were a receivable, DSO would be 75.6 days. That figure mixes two kinds of asset and is not a collection measure, but it shows a lender how much of Lantern’s revenue is still outside its bank account. Whether 2027’s profit is as good as it looks, given that $30,840 of it rests on a CPI estimate and one client, is the cash-flow-quality lesson’s question.
Inventory: turnover and days
Inventory turnover divides cost of goods sold by average inventory; days inventory outstanding (DIO) is the average number of days stock waits before it is sold. Cost of goods sold, not revenue, because inventory is carried at cost. Lantern’s cost of sales, $224,205, also includes $61,080 of cost of services (event baristas and catering supplies), which never passed through inventory, so use cost of goods sold, $163,125:
With the whole cost of sales the answer is 12.4 days, which flatters the stock. For 2026, days. Lantern’s stock moves faster now because café stock (milk, pastries, cups) is used within days, while bagged beans for the shop can wait for weeks. A blended ratio hides that, and a business with very different product lines is better analysed line by line where the data allow.
Payables: turnover and days
Days payables outstanding (DPO) is the average number of days the business takes to pay its suppliers: average payables divided by purchases on credit, times the days. Purchases, not cost of goods sold, because payables arise when goods are bought, and Lantern’s payables include supplies and unpaid utility bills as well as beans. In 2027 Lantern bought $187,780 on account ($166,800 of stock, $19,800 of supplies and $1,180 of December utility bills): days. In 2026, days. When purchases are not disclosed, as for most public companies, analysts use cost of goods sold (or cost of sales) and say so.
The 2026 figure is inflated by the year end. Lantern bought heavily for the December gift peak, so its payables at 31 December were high compared with an average month, and with no opening balance there is nothing to average against. Kilnworth’s terms are 30 days in both years. A year-end balance in a seasonal business can mislead any days ratio; quarterly balances, where available, give a better average.
The operating cycle and the cash conversion cycle
The operating cycle is inventory days plus receivables days: how long from buying stock to collecting cash for it. Suppliers finance part of it; the cash conversion cycle is the rest:
Lantern 2027: days, against 28.1 in 2026. Read it with care for a mixed business: it is a composite of two different flows, and no real cash flow runs through both. The 37.2 days of DSO apply only to catering, about 15% of revenue, a service business whose cycle is its collection period less whatever supplier credit its supplies get. The goods sold in the cafés and the shop are paid for at once, so their cycle is inventory days less payables days, days: they are paid for their stock a little before they pay for it. A firm-wide figure, with receivables measured in days of total revenue, is days. Each view answers a different question; the composite 36.3 is best used only to compare like with like over time. The cycle has lengthened on every basis, and Lantern now pays its suppliers within 18 days though their terms allow 30: as cash grew scarce, it was not taking the credit it was offered.
A negative cycle: Amazon
A business that sells its stock quickly, is paid at once and pays its suppliers late can have a negative cash conversion cycle: its suppliers finance its operations and growth adds cash rather than using it. Amazon’s 10-K figures for 2013 and 2014 show it.
| Measure | 2013 | 2014 |
|---|---|---|
| Receivables days (on total net sales) | 21.0 | 21.3 |
| Inventory days (on cost of sales) | 45.3 | 45.7 |
| Payables days (on cost of sales) | 95.8 | 91.9 |
| Cash conversion cycle | -29.5 | -24.9 |
Computed from Amazon’s consolidated balance sheets (31 December 2012, 2013 and 2014) and statements of operations. Receivables are Amazon’s “accounts receivable, net and other”; credit sales and purchases are not disclosed, so total net sales and cost of sales are used. At 31 December 2014 accounts payable ($16,459 million) exceeded inventories and receivables together ($13,911 million).
For Amazon, each extra dollar of sales brought cash in before the stock had to be paid for. For Lantern’s catering the opposite holds: each extra invoiced event ties up cash for as long as the client takes to pay, about 37 days, and the law firm’s contract for up to a year.
How growth consumes working capital
When the cycle is positive, working capital grows with sales: more receivables, more stock, partly offset by more payables. A rough rule:
If the days stay the same, operating working capital grows in proportion to sales, and that increase is cash the business must find before it can spend its profit. The indirect method shows Lantern’s 2027 bill: working capital absorbed $33,890, of which $30,840 was the contract asset, $3,902 the increase in receivables and $3,675 the increase in stock, partly offset by $2,960 more unearned revenue and $2,200 more wages payable. That is why $22,431 of net income and $19,800 of depreciation became only $8,341 of cash from operations.
Formulas
Asset turnover
- Net revenue for a twelve-month period (annualise a part-year)$
- Average of opening and closing total assets (closing if there is no opening balance sheet)$
Times a year. Lantern 2027: 2.74. Fixed-asset turnover uses average property and equipment, net (Lantern 2027: 8.72).
Fixed-asset turnover
- Net revenue for the period$
- Average property, plant and equipment, net of accumulated depreciation; right-of-use assets excluded unless stated$
Lantern: 5.20 (2026, ten months), 8.72 (2027).
Receivables turnover and days sales outstanding
- Average of opening and closing net receivables (not contract assets)$
- Sales billed on credit during the period: the sales that passed through receivables$
- Days in the period: 365 for a year, 304.17 for ten monthsdays
Assumes. Receivables turnover = credit sales ÷ average receivables. When credit sales are not disclosed, total revenue is used and the result understates the days.
Lantern 2027: days.
Inventory turnover and days inventory outstanding
- Average of opening and closing inventory$
- Cost of goods sold for the period (not cost of services)$
- Days in the perioddays
Assumes. Inventory turnover = COGS ÷ average inventory.
Lantern 2027: 17.1 days (turnover 21.36).
Payables turnover and days payables outstanding
- Average of opening and closing accounts payable$
- Purchases on credit for the period; cost of goods sold when purchases are not known (say so)$
- Days in the perioddays
Purchases = COGS + closing inventory − opening inventory, when all stock is bought on credit. Lantern 2027: 18.0 days.
Operating cycle and cash conversion cycle
- Days inventory outstandingdays
- Days sales outstandingdays
- Days payables outstandingdays
The operating cycle is DIO + DSO. Lantern 2027: CCC 36.3 days; operating cycle 54.3 days. Amazon 2014: −24.9 days.
Contract asset in days of revenue
- Revenue earned but not yet billable, at the year end$
- Total revenue for the period, or the revenue of the contract concerned$
- Days in the perioddays
Lantern 2027: 19.5 days of total revenue; 274 days of the law firm’s fee.
Worked examples
Fictional figures
Lantern’s net receivables were $6,796 at 31 December 2026 and $10,698 at 31 December 2027; it invoiced $85,880 of catering in 2027. Its inventory was $5,800 and $9,475, and cost of goods sold $163,125. Calculate receivables and inventory turnover and days for 2027.
- Average receivables: . Receivables turnover: . DSO: days.
- Average inventory: . Inventory turnover: . DIO: days.
- Check the flows: the invoiced catering is the only revenue that went into receivables, and cost of goods sold (not the cost of services) is what left inventory.
Answer. Receivables turnover 9.82, DSO 37.2 days; inventory turnover 21.36, DIO 17.1 days.
What it means. Catering clients take about a week longer than Lantern’s 30-day terms, consistent with the aging schedule; stock sells in a little over two weeks on average.
Fictional figures
Calculate Lantern’s cash conversion cycle for 2026 and 2027 and explain the change. For 2026 use closing balances and 304.17 days: receivables $6,796, invoiced catering $59,920; inventory $5,800, COGS $52,800; payables $9,210, purchases on account $70,430. For 2027 use averages and 365 days, with payables of $9,280 at the year end and purchases on account of $187,780.
- 2026: DSO ; DIO ; DPO . CCC days.
- 2027: DSO 37.2 and DIO 17.1 (simple example). Average payables ; DPO . CCC days.
- Change: +8.2 days. Inventory days fell by 16.3 (good), receivables days rose by 2.7, and payables days fell by 21.8. The payables change dominates.
- Check the basis: 2026 uses closing balances, 2027 averages. On closing balances in both years, 2027 gives DSO , DIO , DPO : a cycle of 48.6 days against 28.1. The mixed-basis comparison understates the deterioration.
- Judgement: part of the payables change is the 2026 year end (December’s heavy buying, no opening balance to average); part is real: Lantern paid within 18 days though Kilnworth allows 30.
Answer. CCC 28.1 days (2026) and 36.3 days (2027) on the usual bases, mainly because payables days fell from 39.8 to 18.0; on closing balances in both years the 2027 cycle is 48.6 days.
What it means. Lantern is financing more of its own cycle at the very time cash is short. Taking the full 30 days its supplier allows is the cheapest finance it has.
Fictional figures
Ana considers three changes for 2028 (all hypothetical): (a) ask the law firm to pay each quarter’s fee at the quarter end instead of the whole year in arrears; (b) pay Kilnworth at its full 30 days rather than in about 18, and then negotiate 45 days; (c) cut stock by three days of cost of goods sold. Estimate the cash each would have released at the end of 2027, and compare it with the cost of the line of credit (9% a year).
- (a) Quarterly billing: at 31 December only the fourth quarter’s fee would be outstanding, , as a receivable on 30-day terms. Cash released: .
- (b1) Taking the full 30 days instead of about 18, on stock purchases of $166,800: , released for nothing, since the terms already allow it.
- (b2) A 45-day deal adds fifteen more days: . At 9% that saves about a year of interest on the line of credit; if Kilnworth wanted even 1% more on its prices ($1,668) for the longer terms, the deal would cost more than it saves.
- (c) Three days of stock: , with some risk of running out at the cafés.
- Ranking: (a) is worth about 1.7 times (b1) and (b2) together and fifteen times (c), and costs only a conversation with one client, who may want something in return. (b1) is free and should be done at once.
Answer. About $20,560 from quarterly billing; $5,484 from paying Kilnworth at its full 30 days and $6,855 more from a 45-day deal (worth it only if the price doesn’t rise); and $1,341 from three fewer days of stock.
What it means. Working capital is cash. Lantern’s biggest lever is not its beans or its suppliers but one contract’s billing terms; a lender would rather see that changed than see the credit line drawn further.
Explore
Common mistakes
Using total revenue for receivables days
Most of Lantern’s sales are paid at once, so dividing catering receivables by total revenue gives 5.5 days and hides a collection period of 37.2. Use sales on credit; if they are not disclosed, say that the result understates the days.
“Catering revenue is credit sales.”
Only revenue that was invoiced on credit created receivables. Lantern’s catering revenue includes the law firm’s unbilled $30,840 and $1,640 of events paid by deposit; using it all gives 27.0 days instead of 37.2.
Inventory turnover on revenue or on all cost of sales
Inventory is carried at cost, so divide cost of goods sold by it. Revenue includes the margin and overstates turnover; cost of sales that includes services (Lantern’s event baristas) does too: 12.4 days instead of 17.1.
Closing balances when averages are available
A flow earned over the year belongs with the year’s average balance. Lantern’s 2027 DSO on closing receivables would be 45.5 days, overstated because receivables grew during the year. Use closing balances only when there is no opening balance sheet, as for 2026, and say so.
Ten months of flow, 365 days
A ten-month period has 304.17 days. Lantern’s 2026 inventory days computed with 365 would be 40.1 rather than 33.4. Either use the period’s days or annualise the flow; both give the same answer.
“A shorter cash conversion cycle is always better.”
Paying suppliers late lengthens DPO but can cost discounts and goodwill; cutting stock can mean empty shelves; tight credit terms can lose clients. The cycle measures cash tied up, not the best way to run the business.
Guided practice
Work through these with hints when you need them. Every hint and every worked solution is there to be used.
Loading four questions…
On your own
No hints this time. Answer, check, and read the feedback; the solution appears once you have answered or if you ask for it. Your first answers count toward mastery.
Loading five questions…
In practice
A cash forecast built on days. Lantern’s accountant forecasts 2028 working capital from days rather than guessing balances. If catering invoices grow to about $120,000 and clients still take 37.2 days, receivables will average about $12,230; if purchases on account reach $200,000 and Lantern takes Kilnworth’s full 30 days, payables will average about $16,438, $7,193 more than in 2027. Each assumption is a lever someone can be held to: the credit controller for DSO, the café managers for stock, Ana for supplier terms.
A lender’s view of the contract asset. Coastline’s credit officer adds a line to her review: 19.5 days of Lantern’s revenue is waiting for a single billing date. Concentration matters as much as the days. If the law firm disputes the CPI adjustment or delays payment, Lantern’s March 2028 cash plan fails. She asks for the contract and its payment terms, which is what an analyst should do whenever a contract asset is large.
Comparing models. An analyst comparing Lantern with an online retailer or a café chain should expect very different cycles: Amazon’s was −24.9 days in 2014, because its suppliers waited longer to be paid than its stock and its customers took together. The point of comparison is not the level but the direction and the reason: a cycle lengthening because clients pay late is a warning; one lengthening because the business stocks up for a launch may be a plan.
Knowledge check
Six questions, one attempt each, no hints. Score 80% or more to complete the lesson; you can take it again at any time.
Loading six questions…
Summary
- Efficiency ratios divide a flow by a balance (turnover) or a balance by the flow per day (days); days = days in the period ÷ turnover.
- Match the flow to the balance: credit sales billed for receivables, cost of goods sold for inventory, purchases for payables. Use average balances where an opening balance sheet exists, and the period’s days (304.17 for ten months) or annualised flows for part-years.
- Lantern 2027: asset turnover 2.74 (2.48 annualised in 2026); DSO 37.2 days on invoiced catering; DIO 17.1 days on cost of goods sold; DPO 18.0 days on purchases; cash conversion cycle 36.3 days (28.1 in 2026), or 48.6 days on closing balances like 2026’s, so the deterioration is larger than the mixed-basis figures suggest.
- A contract asset is not a receivable and stays out of DSO, but it is working capital: Lantern’s $30,840 is 19.5 days of total revenue and nine months of the law firm’s fee.
- The cash conversion cycle (DIO + DSO − DPO) is the part of the operating cycle the business finances itself; it can be negative, as Amazon’s was (−24.9 days in 2014).
- When the cycle is positive, growth absorbs cash in proportion to sales; Lantern’s working capital absorbed $33,890 in 2027, $30,840 of it in the contract asset.
Key formulas
- Asset turnover
- Fixed-asset turnover
- Receivables turnover and days sales outstanding
- Inventory turnover and days inventory outstanding
- Payables turnover and days payables outstanding
- Operating cycle and cash conversion cycle
- Contract asset in days of revenue
Terms introduced
- Turnover
- In ratio analysis, a flow for a period divided by the balance that produces it, such as revenue ÷ average total assets: how many times a year the balance is used and replaced.
- Days sales outstanding
- Average net receivables divided by credit sales, times the days in the period: the average number of days customers take to pay. Abbreviated DSO.
- Days inventory outstanding
- Average inventory divided by cost of goods sold, times the days in the period: the average number of days stock is held before it is sold. Abbreviated DIO.
- Days payables outstanding
- Average accounts payable divided by purchases on credit (or cost of goods sold when purchases are not known), times the days in the period: the average number of days the business takes to pay its suppliers. Abbreviated DPO.
- Cash conversion cycle
- Inventory days plus receivables days minus payables days: the number of days between paying suppliers and collecting from customers that the business must finance itself.
Sources
- Dahlquist, J. & Knight, R. (2022). Principles of Finance, section 6.2, “Operating Efficiency Ratios”. OpenStax. openstax.org/books/principles-finance/pages/6-2-operating-ef…
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (2007). Beginners’ Guide to Financial Statements (inventory turnover). sec.gov/reportspubs/investor-publications/investorpubsbegfin…
- Amazon.com, Inc. (2015). Form 10-K for 2014: consolidated balance sheets (SEC EDGAR financial report R7). sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1018724/000101872415000006/R7.ht…
- Amazon.com, Inc. (2015). Form 10-K for 2014: consolidated statements of operations (SEC EDGAR financial report R3). sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1018724/000101872415000006/R3.ht…
- Amazon.com, Inc. (2014). Form 10-K for 2013: consolidated balance sheets, with 31 December 2012 (SEC EDGAR financial report R7). sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1018724/000101872414000006/R7.ht…
